Volunteer Committees

Volunteer committees play an integral role in the Foundation’s work. Some committees help to guide our granting process, while others tap into their networks to help foster donations, or to make our events successful.

THANK YOU to these dedicated people at the heartbeat of our community — they typically bring a specific area of experience or expertise to their committee. They come from across the country and they help to make it all happen, by sharing their time, ideas, and energy.

Committee Members 2019-21

Marsha Sfeir (Chair), former Executive Director, Springtide Resources
Marcia Cardamore, PeopleSense Foundation
Jill Hanley, McGill University School of Social Work
Melissa Hyland, Resiliency Rising Consulting
Ruth Mandel, Philanthropist
Loly Rico, FCJ Refugee Centre
Michelle Smith, Sandgate Women’s Shelter
Susan Berthiaume, Ndinawemaaganag Endaawaad

Committee members 2019-21

Natasha Jackson, Committee Chair, Department of Communities, Culture, & Heritage, Province of Nova Scotia
Carolyn Bendo, Ricki’s
Patricia Blocksom, Dunphy, Best, Blocksom LLP
Nancy Coxford, Grey Birch Foundation
Dallas Fikowski, Labour Ministry, Government of Alberta
Lyda Fuller, YWCA Yellowknife
Susan Henry, Alterna Savings
Ellie Jones, Thrive
Indu Krishnamurthy, Microcrédit Montréal
Jennifer Laidlaw, CIBC Gender Inclusion
Michelle Lochan, National Research Council of Canada
Elizabeth Lougheed-Green, Manager, VanCity Community Foundation
Gina McKay, Program Facilitator, Sexuality, Inclusivity, & Prevention Training
Doreen Parsons, Women Unlimited Association
Pamela Wicks, Pulse Seismic Inc.

Committee members 2019-21

Sonia Prevost-Derbecker, Committe Chair; Movember
Monica Arab, Government of Nova Scotia
Jennica Alhda Barcial, Pulaarvik Kablu Friendship Centre
Manjit (Jeet) K. Chand
Marion Craft
Emilie Chiasson, Government of New Brunswick
Teshini Harrison, Ontario Nonprofit Network
Jessie Hemphill, Consultant
Ramona Lumpkin, Canadian Women’s Foundation Board Member; Mount Saint Vincent University
Sophie Mayes, City of Montréal
Ali McConnell, Northern Youth Leadership
Armine Tadevosyan, KPMB Architects
Ann Watterworth, Cassels Brock & Blackwell
Amber Young, PhD Candidate

2019-2021 Committee Members

Dr. Kristin Blakely, Committee Chair; Glendon College, York University
Papy Abdie
Aldeli Albán Reyna
Killa Atencio, LOVE Nova Scotia
Amma Gyamfowa
Golsa Golestaneh, YWCA Vancouver
Ben Lord
Nathalie Lozano-Neira
Shavaneil McLean, The 519
Peggy Moss, Canadian Women’s Foundation Board Member, author
Carly Neill, Royal LePage Shelter Foundation
Pauline Paterson, YWCA Girls and Family Centre
Catherine Plouffe Jette, YWCA Quebec
Jennifer Rankin, National Association of Friendship Centres
Quinn Saretsky, Elizabeth Fry Society of Manitoba

2019-2021 Committee Members

Patt Lenover-Adams, Committee Chair
Angie Arora, Seneca College
Cecile Guerin, Embrace Life Council
Diana Lee, TD Bank Group
Etana Cain, Ontario Nurses Association
Jacqueline Bazompora, Microcrédit Montréal
Jillian Kilfoil, Women’s Network PEI
Jody Johnson
Lisa O’Connor, Superior Plus
Karen Love, Boys & Girls Club
Karine-Myrgianie Jean-François, DAWN Canada
Kim Hawkins, Rise Women’s Legal Service
Kristen Lobay, Survivor’s Hope Crisis Centre
Rhonda Ford
Tamara Sabarini, Scadding Court Community Centre
Tania Hlovosky, Envision Counselling and Support Centre
Tsion D. Abate, Multicultural Family Resource Society

Alice Trudelle, Atelier d’innovation sociale Mauril Bélanger
Aline Nizigama, Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB)
Amanda Kanbari, Fostering Open Expression among Youth (FOXY)
Annie Laurin, RBC Banque Royale du Canada
Corinne Ofstie, Association of Alberta Sexual Assault Services
Deb Larocque, Assured Natural
Grace Lore, Victoria Sexual Assault Centre
Laurie Young, Board Member
Lesley Anderson, First United
Nadine Sookermany (Chair), Women’s Health Clinic
Sarah Cassellis
Shanan Spencer Brown, Royal LePage Shelter Foundation
Sheila Davis, Bryony House

Vanessa Paesani, Committee Chair, The Folding Chair Group, NB
Roselyne Mavungu, Independent Consultant & QC Network of Community Credit, QC
Nada El Masry, RADIUS Social Innovation Hub, Simon Fraser University, BC
Morenike Olaosebikan, Ribbon Rouge Foundation, AB
Maiden Manzanal-Frank, Global Stakes Consulting, AB
Ludivine Ventura, Social Venture Connexion, QC
Lauren Sears, Common Good Solutions, NS
Karen Gilmore, Fulmer Capital Partners Inc., BC
Julia Vlad, New Market Funds, ON
Irene Gannitsos, Vancity Community Foundation, BC
Frances Westley, University of Waterloo, ON
Debra Campbell, Philanthropic Advisor, ON
Crystal Laborero, Laborero Consulting and Assiniboine Credit Union, MB
Chi Nguyen, Former ED, Social Innovation Canada, ON
Sarah Mariani – Young Director – Girls on Boards, ON

Chelsea Stellick, Committee Chair, Industrial Alliance Securities Inc.
Alison Taylor, Alliance Pipeline Limited Partnership
Anne Kean
Erin Viala, HMC Lawyers
Ildi Arlette, Results Continuum Inc.
Kathy McMillan, Richardson GMP McMillan Wealth Management
Lauren Hutchison, Reebok Kids
Madison Brush, Dunphy Best Blocksom LLP

“This program would not be what it is today without the Canadian Women’s Foundation’s support. Words cannot thank you enough!” (Paige Van Praet-Guthier, Program Coordinator, Girls’ Mentoring, Sarnia-Lambton Rebound)